We need a new browser


Yes you read right, we definately need a good mobile web browser for developers because there isn’t any. You might say that there is a good mobile browser, Google Chrome.

Google Chrome does give us access to new css and js asap but I want different things and Chrome does not provide those features.

What features do I want ?

The features I want are present in all browser but only for desktops not for mobiles. Those are

  • developer mode
  • inspect element
  • console

What feature does mobile browsers offer ?

None of the above

Some mobiles browser have few special features that could be helpfull for developers but they does not provide any of the above features.

What I am thinking to do

You might guessed it. I want to create a new open source browser for mobiles. Which will at least provides 1 specific feature of inspecting elements (HTML & CSS). After that adding console support and other features to it (if possible)

What’s the problem

This project have few probloms. First of them is myself.

I don’t know how can I make a web browser. My first thought was creating a website which will take input of url from the user then fetch it and set it to innerHTML of a div element. something like this

<body>
	<header>
		<form>
			<input type="text" placeholder="enter url" name="browserInputBar" /><input
				type="submit"
				value="search"
			/>
		</form>
	</header>
	<main><div id="display"></div></main>
	<script type="module">
		const form = document.querySelector("form");

		async function fetchData(query) {
			const res = await fetch("https://" + query);
			const data = await res.body(); // I was checking this
			/* I don't know what to use for HTML response .text, .json, .blob, .body or anything else*/
			return data;
		}

		form.addEventListener("submit", (e) => {
			e.preventDefault();
			const query = form.browserInputBar.value;
			const data = fetchData(query);
			document.querySelector("#display").innerHTML = data;
		});
	</script>
</body>

But this is not working. I am getting CORS error.

I want your help to create the best browser for developers

Here is the link to GitHub repo developer-browser

My aim

My aim is to create the best mobile web browser for mobile devices