What I learned new this week (week 8)


Before beginning with it I should clearify first why am I writing this. Every day we learn something, specially me because I recently started using Linux for fulltime. So I am learning something every day about it. But I find out that I forget most of it because I do not write it down. So I start writing it down. Also I thought that I should share this with everyone. And this is the third week. There might be some information which is new to you. So let’s get started.

  1. In Vim, ~ will toggle the case of the letter under the cursor. i.e., lower case to upper case or vice versa. To apply this to an entire word we can use g~w.

  2. In Vim, to toggle case of entire sentence inside a html tag use g~it.

  3. Similar to previous keybinding, to select the entire content inside a html tag use vit.

  4. In Vim, to fix the indentation of a small block of code firstly select that block of code in visual mode then press =.

  5. In Vim, to fix the indentation of entire file use gg=G.

  6. In Linux (specially Ubuntu Gnome), to take a screenshot just press the prt sc (Print Screen) key on your keyboard, it will open screenshot window.

  7. In Linux (specially Ubuntu Gnome), to start screen recording press ctrl + alt + shift + R to open recording window.

That’s it for this week. Meeting you next week.